2017 Volvo China Coast Race Week kicks off tomorrow

12 October, 2017
2017 China Coast Race Week starts 13th October

China Coast Regatta 2015. Photo by Guy Nowell.


The 2017 Volvo China Coast Race Week (CCRW) comprises the Volvo China Coast Regatta 2017 (13 – 15 October), sailed over three days in the waters south and east of Hong Kong Island, and the Volvo Hong Kong to Vietnam Race 2017 (starting 18 October), an Offshore Category One race of 673 nautical miles from Hong Kong to Nha Trang, Vietnam.

In the 2017 Volvo China Coast Regatta, 34 boats will cross the start line to compete in what is anticipated to be three days of the most superb sailing conditions that Hong Kong has to offer. Race organisers, however, are keeping a close eye on a potential typhoon developing off Hong Kong. An emergency meeting was held last night at the Club to discuss contingency plans. The event faced a similar situation in 2016 when Tropical Cyclone Haima brought Hong Kong to a standstill the day before the regatta, however the storm came and went without affecting racing. There is yet another system off Vietnam, which is also being carefully monitored by race management.

The fleet for the 2017 Volvo China Coast Race Week is a very competitive one. Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club Sailing Manager Ailsa Angus commented “we have the usual suspects racing and we have a great IRC 0 division this year”. IRC 0 includes China’s Wang Bin with his Cookson 50 UBOX. Bin skippered the first Chinese yacht to complete a world circumnavigation, as well taking third in IRC Overall in the 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

Shawn Kang has moved from the Premier Cruising Division with his new KER 46+ Lighthorse Alphaplus, with Wade Morgan racing on board (previous team leader of Black Baza – IRC Overall winner of the Hong Kong to Vietnam race 2015 and boat captain of the Abu Dhabi team in 2011/12 Volvo Ocean Race).

Five of the boats entered have recently changed hands including Liu Yong Feng’s Seawolf, which was previously named Black Baza – the KER 42 Custom that won the AsianYachting Grand Prix Skipper and Yacht of the Year for 2016/17 under the ownership of Anthony Root and Steve Manning, and took second IRC Overall in the China Coast Regatta 2016.

Looking to the Volvo Hong Kong to Vietnam Race the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club welcomes the first Italian, Russian and Philippines entries to compete in the Race; Mascalzone Latino, Mattteo Savelli’s Cookson 50; No Applause, a First 40 CR owned by Alexander Vodovatov; and regular participant in the Rolex China Sea Race, Philippines entry Ernesto Echauz in his TP52 Standard Insurance Centennial.

For the first time in the event’s history the Club has introduced staggered starts. The smaller boats will head off on Tuesday 17 October, with the majority of the fleet setting off on Wednesday 18 October. This will allow the boats to converge as they head into the finish in Nha Trang, Vietnam. The sequence will act predominantly as a safety factor, with the bigger boats coming up behind the smaller fleet should they get into any trouble.

2015 IRC 0 winner, Phillip Turner’s Reichel/ Pugh 66 Alive, is racing in her second Hong Kong to Vietnam Race. With a 2015 elapsed time of 49h 56m 21s being only, 7h 38m 57s behind Syd Fisher’s Ragamuffin 100’s current race record of 42h 17m 24s, all eyes will be on her to see how the race plays out in what is expected to be a fast ride.

Provisional Entry List – Volvo China Coast Regatta:

IRC Racer 0
Standard Insurance Centennial, Ernesto Echauz
Jelik, Frank Pong
Freefire, Sam Chan
Zannekin, Marcel Liedts
Lighthorse Alphaplus, Shawn Kang
Ubox, Wang Bin

IRC Racer 1
Otonomos Mandrake, Fred Kinmonth / Nick Burns
Hero Racing Team, Tiffany Koo
Ambush, Joachim Isler / Drew Taylor
Vineta, Helmuth Hennig
Seawolf, Liu Yong Feng
Minnie, Nigel Snell
Phoenix, Victor Kuk
Rampage Ii, Noel Chan / Denis Ma
Crystal, Albert Cheung

IRC Racer 2
Sell Side Dream, Simon Powell
Red Rum, Manning/O’Malley
Kingsman, Gordon Liu
Kiasu, Chris Li
Juggerknot, Richard Van Den Berg
Blackjack, Glenn Smith
Avante Garde, Joshua Cole

IRC Racer 3
Whiskey Jack, Nick Southward
Lady Butterfly, JC Broyelle
Andiamo, John Woo / Cynthia Li
Ding Dong, Thomas Wong
Arcturus, Dennis Chien
Ymir, Kjartan Furset

IRC Premier Cruiser
Clove Hitch, Alex Yu
Moonblue 2, Peter Churchouse

Lisa Elaine, Carl Wilkinson
Simplicity, Sunny Chai
Darling, Dean Chisholm
Bleu, Alan Cheung


Provisional Entry List – Volvo Hong Kong to Vietnam Race:

IRC Racer 0
Antipodes, Geoffrey Hill
Freefire, Sam Chan
Mascalzone Latino, Matteo Savelli
Ubox, Wang Bin
Alive, Phillip Turner

IRC Racer 1
Ambush, Joachim Isler / Andrew Taylor
Zanzibar, Jonathan Mahony
Lion Rock, Michael Lunn
Otonomos Mandrake, Fred Kinmonth / Nick Burns
Surf Dude, Steve Ho

IRC Racer 2
No Applause, Alexander Vodovatov
Salalah, Jackie Siu / Lin Guangmu
Whiskey Jack, Nick Southward


For more information, visit www.chinacoastraceweek.com.


  • Recently Loaded
  • Go Yacthing
  • Asian Regattas