Fred Kinmonth and Nick Burns announced as 2017/18 AYGP Champions

8 May, 2018
Mandrake III - 2017/18 AsianYachting Grand Prix champions

Mandrake III competing at the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta. Photo by Guy Nowell.


For 15 years, the AsianYachting Grand Prix (AYGP) Skipper and Yacht of the Year titles were awarded to Skipper(s)/Boat Owner(s), but at the start of this 16th AYGP Season we came under fire for presenting the 2015/16 and 2016/17 Skipper titles, jointly to Anthony Root and Steve Manning’s Black Baza. They fundamentally had two teams that competed separately at selected events. This season we tried awarding the points to the person in charge of the yacht at each event and soon discovered this single decision became very divisive and unfair to multiple skipper/owner teams, that genuinely compete with the same crew and share the planning, crew roles and responsibilities between themselves when onboard.

The main aim of the AYGP Ranking system has always been to rank Boat Owners and Skippers’ ability to organise and run a racing campaign through Asian waters during the season. As a result, we have decided to revert to awarding the Skipper and Yacht points to multiple Skipper/Owners for the 2017/18 Season and into the future.

Having a fantastic run of victories this season, Fred Kinmonth/ Nick Burns with mainly a corinthian crew on their GTS 43 Mandrake III have won their class at the China Coast Regatta, Phuket King’s Cup Regatta, Subic Verde Island Race and Subic Cup, IRC Overall in the Rolex China Sea Race, Commodore’s Cup and seond place at the Raja Muda Selangor International Regatta. We are honoured to announce that Fred and Nick have jointly won the 2017/18 AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year titles on their own merits and will be awarded at the season ending Samui Regatta from May 26th to June 2nd, at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui on Chaweng Beach, Samui Island.

This unique partnership have successfully run yachting campaigns over the past 20 years and scored in all 15 AYGP seasons to date, on four different yachts. Mostly finishing in the top order, with three runner up places and now topping it off with victory on their finest year, is acknowledgement of their outstanding achievements and honours their special sailing partnership.

If they win the IRC 1 class at the Samui Regatta they will be the first team in the all inclusive class era, to go down in history for winning six point scoring regattas in one season.

Organisers should also get ready for a double celebration, as past and present crew plus many supporters are expected to cheer them on, as they don navy blue blazers, collect the trophies and have a champagne celebration (a la Grand Prix-style) for running the longest and highly successful racing campaign in Asian waters so far, and hopefully for many years to come.

Also for the first time in the 16th AYGP year history, 339 Skippers and 317 Yachts have scored points by contesting in at least one of the 12 point scoring events already held, that make up the family of 13 AYGP five star regattas/ races this season.

Story by AY MultiMedia.



  • Recently Loaded
  • Go Yacthing
  • Asian Regattas