Phuket King’s Cup Regatta – 1 to 8 December, 2018

In its 32nd edition, the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta, one of the first Regattas on the Asian marine scene, is now Asia’s top yachting event with the largest big boat fleet of 90+ yachts annually.

Over the years, the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta has grown tremendously, boasting the largest number of participants competing in keelboats, multihulls and classic yachts.

In recent years, the regatta has re-introduced dinghy classes, added Kiteboard Racing in 2011 and Windsurfing in 2012.

The 2012 edition was thoroughly international with crews from over 35 countries, and a growing contingent of Asian and Thai sailors in particular taking part.

Under the Royal Patronage of His Majesty the King of Thailand, the Regatta is organised by the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta Organising Committee under the auspices of the Royal Varuna Yacht Club, in conjunction with the Yacht Racing Association of Thailand, the Royal Thai Navy and the Province of Phuket.

Inaugurated in 1987 to celebrate the 60th birthday of His Majesty the King of Thailand, the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta takes place every year during the first week of December.

The regatta annually features 100 boats or more and approximately 2,000 participants, families and helpers. Classes range from the ‘Formula One; boats of the sea in IRC Zero class through to a highly competitive IRC fleet, cruisers, multihulls, classics and live-aboard ocean cruisers.

International-standard race management and exceptional beach parties during the regatta week make the Phuket King’s Cup a world-renowned yacht racing event.

Recent Results
2012 Race Results:
IRC Zero – Jelik, Frank Pong
IRC One – Ichi Ban, David Fuller
IRC Two – Ichi Ban, Matt Allen
Premier – Titania of Cowes, Richard Dobbs
Platu One-Design – Tuay Lek, Scott Duncanson
Modern Classic – Patrice III, Tim Costello
Bareboat Charter – Sail Plane, Kirill Sakhartsev
Multihull – Mojo, Peter Wilcox
Firefly 850 Sports – Voodoo, Hans Rahmann
Cruising – No Name, William Lo
Classic – Sirius, Simon Morris
Laser – Kamolwan Chanyim, Thailand
Optimist – Pongsapat Poomyam, Thailand
Topper – Akapoj Kankaew, Thailand
Windsurfs – Chun Leung Michael Cheng, Hong Kong

2011 Race Results:
IRC Zero – Team Premier, Hannes Waimer
IRC 1 – Karasu, Yasuo Nanamori
IRC 2 – Royal Thai Navy 1, CPO.1 Wiwat Poonpat
Firefly 850 Sports – Moto Inzi, Roger Kingdon
Multihull – Sidewinder, Alan Carwardine
Premier – Titania of Cowes, Richard Dobbs
Bareboat Charter – Venture, Mike Crisp
Modern Classic – Patrice III, Bo Sondergaard
Cruising – Odin, Aquacraft Asia
Laser – Patteera Mee-u-samsen, Thailand
Optimist – Akapoj Kankeaw, Thailand
Kiteboards – Olivier Dansin, France

Winners since 1987:
Go to

The Regatta in a nutshell
Event: 2018 Phuket King’s Cup Regatta
Date: 1 – 8 December, 2018
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Organizer: Phuket King’s Cup Regatta Organising Committee


Check out the action from the 2011 Phuket King’s Cup RegattaFeatured in the monthly Go Yachting IPTV programme


The Phuket King’s Cup Regatta is part of the Asian Yachting Grand Prix Championship.


  • Recently Loaded
  • Go Yacthing
  • Asian Regattas